R. Gary Allen Charmaine Crabb Jerry 'Pops' Barnes Glenn Davis Council Members
John M. House
Bruce Huff

R. Walker Garrett Evelyn Turner Pugh Judy W. Thomas Evelyn 'Mimi' Woodson

Clerk of Council Sandra T. Davis



Council Chambers Second Floor of City Services Center 311 Citizens Way, Columbus, GA 31906 April 2, 2019 5:30 p.m. Proclamation and Resolution Session

PROCLAMATION AND RESOLUTION SESSION

- 1. **CALL TO ORDER:** Mayor B. H. "Skip" Henderson, III, Presiding.
- 2. **INVOCATION:** Pastor Donavon O. Coley- Forrest Park Baptist Church.
- 3. **PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE:** Led by Youth of Forrest Park Baptist Church.

PROCLAMATIONS

PROCLAMATION: Sexual Assault Support Center (SASC) Day

RECEIVING: Kyle Bair, Karin Tyson, and Laurie Smithson

PROCLAMATION: The Week of the Young Child

RECEIVING: Rhea Bentley, Tammy Keith, Shiketheia Simmons, Larelle

Copeland, and Villacia Jones

PROCLAMATION: National Crime Victims' Rights Week

RECEIVING: Shelly Hall, Director of DA Victim Witness Assistance Program

(DA VWAP), DA VWAP Staff, and Invited Victims of Crime

PROCLAMATION: Columbus Re-Entry Week

RECEIVING: Andrea Reese and Davida Hatton

PROCLAMATION: Child Abuse Prevention Month

RECEIVING: Jennifer Allen President of Exchange Club and Margarete Koepfer

Chair of Child Abuse Prevention

RESOLUTIONS

RESOLUTION A Resolution recognizing Mr. Raider Graessler, Officer Carlos Pagan-

Gillette and Fire Fighter/EMT Elizabeth Gomez for their contribution of time and expertise to the Office of Emergency Management, Columbus Fire and Emergency Medical Services and the Western Hemisphere Institute for Security Cooperation ("WHINSEC") of Ft. Benning, Georgia. (Columbus

Council)

RESOLUTION A Resolution recognizing first responders, medical professionals and

volunteers for their efforts after the recent severe weather. (Columbus

Council)

RESOLUTION A Resolution recognizing **Public Works employees by name and division**

for responding the night of the recent tornadoes and for their continued

efforts to clean-up. (Columbus Council)

RESOLUTION A Resolution commending and congratulating the following members of

the Carver High School Girls Basketball Team for the first state championship in the girls program history: Janya Love-Hill (the "General"), Jailyn Shaw, Sadrea Mabry, Mia Reese, Shania Riles, Emporess Ashford, Marlicia Johnson, Malasia Howard, Aalonnah Lee, Sya Hall, Olivia Cochran, D'Miya Beacham, Khamya Edmonds, Kionna Gaines, Jordan Morgan, Adary Smith, Schnoria Taylor, Coach

Anson Hundley and Staff. (Columbus Council)

RESOLUTION

A Resolution commending and congratulating the following members of the Carver High School Boys Basketball Team for winning the GHSA 4A State Championship: A.J. Watts, D.J. Riles, Ja'Cyais Credle, Kevon Taylor, Khiari McCoy, Jarius Thomas, Jhykeith Williams, JaCorey Harper, James Wilder, Jalen King, Devin Flowers, Kenya Burns, Demetreece Carter, Ahmari Johnson, Head Coach Warren Beaulah, Assistant Coach Bryan Fisher, Assistant Coach Richard Reese, Manager Brinson Ogletree, Trainer Aubre True, Assistant Trainer Jasmine Woods, Score Book Keepers Shirley Harmon and LeDella English, Statistician Anthony Tarver, Score Clock Keeper Sharon Calhoun, Videographer Angel Ramsey, Lead Custodian Cathy Fluellen, Cheerleading Coaches Roxanne Jarrett, Caneisha Harbison, Athletic Director Corey Joyner, Assistant Principals Lisa Norris, Cassandra Phillips and Principal Christopher Lindsey. (Columbus Council)

FORMER BOARD MEMBERS

RESOLUTION Expressing appreciation to Mr. Derrick Greene for his meritorious service

on the Recreation Advisory Board. (Columbus Council)

RESOLUTION Expressing appreciation to Ms. Rena Hall for her meritorious service on the

Community Development Advisory Council. (Columbus Council)

RESOLUTION Expressing appreciation to Mr. Doug Jefcoat for his meritorious service on

the Uptown Facade Board. (Columbus Council)

The City of Columbus strives to provide accessibility to individuals with disabilities and who require certain accommodations in order to allow them to observe and/or participate in this meeting. If assistance is needed regarding the accessibility of the meeting or the facilities, individuals may contact the Mayor's Commission for Persons with Disabilities at 706-653-4492 promptly to allow the City Government to make reasonable accommodations for those persons.